Pumpkin Pie

25 Oct
There is pumpkin pie filling in Prague!

I got really excited when I found the store that sells American junk. They have all the stuff that Europeans would look at us as crazy for bringing anywhere near our mouths..Twinkies, Pop-tarts, Vanilla Coke, Reese’s…The Candy Store 

So I left the junk for other hungry Americans and took that can of pumpkin puree.

My recipe explained:

Lately, I have become a big fan of the Paleo diet lifestyle. I didn’t believe it at first, but after trying it for a while, I fell for it. You could get into all the details of it, but here are the main messages: your body needs fat to function, your cells and brain are full of it, it protects organs and keeps you warm, so you have to feed it fat, protein to build and maintain muscles and vitamins and minerals.

Then there is sugar. Not only the white powdery kind and candy and cakes, but everything that contains carbs is basically sugar. When you think about everything we normally eat throughout the day, you eat a disproportional amount of sugar compared to the other components. Paleo enthusiasts stay away from all sugars, grains, starches, pastry, side dishes and so on. Ideally, it would be great to have that kind of willpower. However, I think any adjustment in proportions or substitutions for the corn sugar and wheat products it a logical step. So, I eat lots of veggies and fruit, healthy fats, olive oil, avocado, coconut oil, eggs, meat, some nuts and I do sneak in hard cheeses and cream, oh, and I am not giving up dark chocolate. We could go on, but let’s not.

There are lots of options of what to eat. So much so, that I do not feel deprived of the side dishes or crave the sweets. But, there is a big BUT. There are those baked goods that just seem wrong to give up completely. And yes, I will have those on occasion. However, I have been trying to find and try out recipes that would adhere to the Paleo guidelines. I am willing to try the recipes, but I won’t sacrifice the taste for something that might be healthy. In other words, if the Paleo version is not as good as the original, I will reach for the real thing.

First experiment: Pumpkin Pie
Image
The recipe

Crust
1 cup chopped fine almonds, cashews, almonds
4 T melted butter
-mix butter and nuts into a paste and press into bottom of pan
-bake 350F, 175C for 15min

Filling
1 14 oz can of pumpkin puree
2 eggs
spices: cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, allspice
1/4 cup cream (optional)
1/4 cup honey, agave syrup, maple syrup (optional)
-blend until smooth
-pour over crust and bake about 45 min
-leave pie in the oven with the door open to prevent it from cracking as it cools

Eat!

Image

Leave a Reply

