Sugar sugar

1 Nov

 

 

Sugar…need I say more? Yes, I know all the consequences of it, but in the end, it is so amazing. My time in Prague has been full of really amazing experiences, but what really comforts me is baking…unless…here it comes again….it contains sugar.

Last week I decided to make some Halloween treats, and let me tell you, the sugar here is NOT the same as in San Diego. Trust me, 4 different tries in the same afternoon and no success. Whether white or brown, the sugar granules are different enough that the end product is a complete failure. I am not a picky eater, but the sweets I made over the weekend went for a slam-dunk into the trash bin.

 

I have been baking the whole time I have been here, 9 months now, but I always happened to manage. Except this time, when I made BROWNIES. We laughed, we cried, we threw them out. Luckily, the store is all of 20 feet from my apartment so running in for a new bag of groceries is not an issue (the cashiers must think I am a complete weirdo if they did not before- but that is another story). BUT, this means I have a new challenge ahead of me. SUGAR, be ware.

Some recent recipes:

Ginger Snaps

Oatmeal Rasin Cookies

Cheesecake – it actually came quite close to the real thing without using cream cheese

Cinnamon Rolls

7 Layer Bars

Egg nog

Banana Bread

Buchty

Plum Jam

 

 

 

 

 

 

P.S. This is not all I live off of, but when it’s in reach…my, oh my.

Leave a Reply

