And so I learned how to drive…

16 Jun

How? I was sent on a business trip to Hungary, in a car, with a stick shift.

I had driven

a stick only a couple times in my life before, and never had I really been on a frequented road, driven up a steep hill or had to encounter bumper to bumper traffic in the city. And yet off I was. I was provoked a little by the constant nagging of my bosses and the exasperated looks I got whenever I told them that a manual is completely foreign to be. So thanks to them my competitive nature was pushed until I finally decided to take the wheel.

 

After 1,100 km, it finally clicked; I now understand the whole concept and can actually feel what I am doing, not just wishfully thinking about making it happen. Although the car still dies on me every so often, I no longer panic, I know what to do, set in a gear and am on my way. Budapest, Bratislava and back, bring on the next business trip!

 

Leave a Reply

